FIFA World Cup Predictions — Group Winners

These are my predictions for FIFA World Cup Group Winners

Carla Martins
6 min readNov 21, 2022
Photo by Peter Glaser on Unsplash

In the days and weeks prior to the start of a Football World Cup, it is common for several predictions and analyses to emerge trying to predict who will be the winners. These analyses can be based on knowledge and expertise, they can be analysis of statistical results and data from teams and players, or a mixture of both.

In this context, I also wanted to try my luck, and therefore I looked for a database that would allow me to do this work. The database I found contains information about all the players present in this World Cup, and it can be found here.

The data used in my model was:

Player’s age
Goals scored by each player in the league in which they play
Caps by each player
Goals scored in previous world cups
Caps at previous World Cups
FIFA Ranking for the respective national team

What was not included in the model, but I wish I have included:

Championship competitiveness of players called up from each national team

How the model was created:

I’m not a football expert, and to tell you the truth, I didn’t even know the names of all the teams competing. So my analysis is from…

--

--

Carla Martins

Compulsive learner. Passionate about technology. Speaks C, R, Python, SQL, Haskell, Java and LaTeX. Interested in creating solutions.